What is the British Commonwealth of Nations?

Jakarta, CNN Indonesia

A number of Commonwealth countries English all over the world are busy proclaiming King Charles III as the new Head of State replaces queen elizabeth II, who passed away last Thursday (8/9).

Like England, New Zealand, Australia and Canada have also expressed their support and loyalty to King Charles, the successor to the throne of the British Empire.

These countries even organized an official ceremony to proclaim their new head of state.

However, what exactly is the Commonwealth of Nations?

The Commonwealth of Nations is an association of countries most of which were former colonies of the British Empire in the past. On average, these dozens of countries have voluntarily chosen to maintain ties with the Kingdom.

[Gambas:Video CNN]

In fact, the Commonwealth is divided into two, namely the “Commonwealth of Nations” and the “Commonwealth Realm”.

Countries that are part of the Commonwealth recognize the King or Queen of England as their Head of State.

Meanwhile, “Commonwealth countries” do not recognize the King/Queen as Head of State. They only think of the king/queen as the head of the Commonwealth.

To date, there are 15 Commonwealth countries, including New Zealand, Australia, the United Kingdom and Canada.

Initially, members of the Commonwealth were still controlled by the British Empire. However, over time, the British Empire continued to offer these countries the ability to govern themselves and even the “freedom” to form their own country.

In 1931, England established the Statute of Westminster or the Act of Westminster. This law allows former colonial countries to control their own domestic and foreign affairs.

In 1949, the concept of freedom of the Commonwealth of Nations was reaffirmed in the London Declaration of 1949.

The declaration made the member states of the Commonwealth free and equal.

“Thus formed, the Commonwealth bears no resemblance to the Kingdom of the past. It is an entirely new conception, founded on the highest qualities of the human spirit: friendship, loyalty and the desire for freedom and peace. For a new conception of an equal partnership between nation and race, I will give myself body and soul every day of my life,” Queen Elizabeth II said in 1953. to place official of the British Commonwealth of Nations.

King George VI was the first head of the Commonwealth and Queen Elizabeth II was the second after the death of her father.

The King or Queen of England does not automatically become Head of State in Commonwealth countries. Member states elect who is their Head of the Commonwealth.

How many countries are there in the British Commonwealth? Read next page >>>

Who are the Commonwealth of Nations?


Lonnie Kimmons

"Internet fanatic. Evil organizer. Tv fanatic. Explorer. Hipster-friendly social media junkie. Certified food expert."

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *