Twice the size of Canada, Russia is the largest country in the world – Russia is the largest country in the world with a total area of ​​17.13 million square kilometers.

The area is twice the area of ​​Canada which is the second largest country in the world.

Russia was an independent country after the dissolution of the Union of Soviet Socialist Republics or known as the Soviet Union in December 1991.

Reported from BritishSunday (2/27/2022), this country spans the entire North Asian region and the eastern third of Europe.

Due to its vast territory, Russia has 11 different time zone calculations, a variety of environments and landscapes, ranging from deserts, semi-arid steppes to dense forests.

The country is also home to the deepest lake in the world, Lake Baikal and the country with the lowest recorded temperatures in the world outside of the North Pole and the South Pole.

Also read: 5 most beautiful buildings in Russia, from palace complexes to shopping malls

To the north and east, Russia is bounded by the Arctic and Pacific oceans. Meanwhile, a small part of the northwest or to be precise St. Petersburg, Russia borders the Baltic Sea, Poland and Lithuania.

To the south, Russia is bordered by North Korea, China, Mongolia, Kazakhstan, Azerbaijan and Georgia.

While to the southwest and west, the country is bordered by Ukraine, Belarus, Latvia, Estonia, Finland, and Norway.

In detail, the east-west border of Russia reaches up to 9,000 kilometers, and the north-south width is about 4,000 kilometers.

Moreover, based on its geological structure and relief, Russia is divided into two main parts, namely the west and the east. Its length is estimated equal to the line of the Yenisei River.

Also read: Giant projects Russia is working on, from high-speed trains to highways

The western part of Russia which occupies about two-fifths of the total area of ​​the country has lowlands dominating a large area and is limited only by low hills and highlands.

To the east, most of the terrain is mountainous, although there are extensive plains.

Due to these topological factors, Russia is further divided into six main relief zones, including the Kola-Karelia region, the Russian Plain, the Ural Mountains, the West Siberian Plain, the Central Siberian Plateau and the mountains to the south and east.

Get updates selected news and recent news every day on Let’s join the Telegram group “ News Update”, how to click on the link, then join. First you need to install the Telegram app on your mobile phone.

Robert Butler

"Bacon aficionado. Hardcore twitter enthusiast. Hipster-friendly pop culture expert. Student. Certified beer buff."

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *