Statistics from the Canadian GP in Montreal

Jakarta (ANTARA) – After an exciting race on the Monaco street circuit, the ninth round of the 2024 Formula 1 season will take place at the Circuit Gilles Villeneuve in Montreal, Canada, from June 8 to 10 WIB.

Next weekend’s race will be the 53rd Canadian Grand Prix since it was first held in 1978 on the Île Notre-Dame circuit.

Around this time, Ferrari driver Gilles Villeneuve scored his first victory and the track was eventually given the name Villeneuve in honor of his achievement.

Ferrari itself has recorded 12 wins in Canada (11 times in Montreal), with seven pole positions and nine fastest laps.

Circuit Gilles-Villeneuve
Track length: 4,361 km
Race distance: 70 laps (305.27 km)
Winner of the 2023 Canadian GP: Max Verstappen (Red Bull)

Pole position Canadian GP 2023: Verstappen (Red Bull)
Fastest lap record: Valtteri Bottas, 2019 (1:13.078)

The Gilles Villeneuve circuit is a favorite among riders because it features fast characteristics with low downforce. The track also has many turns that require sharp braking techniques and are quite difficult.

But beyond that, the track is fast and flowing, with the most iconic part of the circuit appearing right at the end of the lap: the Wall of Champions, named after the rivalry between Damon Hill, Jacques Villeneuve and Michael Schumacher during from the 1999 edition. Canadian Grand Prix weekend.

On the other hand, Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes) has won seven times in Montreal (2007, 2010, 2012, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2019), including the first time in his career. Hamilton and Michael Schumacher hold the record for the most victories on the circuit.

Fernando Alonso (2006), Daniel Ricciardo (2014) and Vettel (2013, 2018) have also had the highest podium finish in Canada. It scored Ricciardo’s first F1 victory in Montreal.

Lonnie Kimmons

"Internet fanatic. Evil organizer. Tv fanatic. Explorer. Hipster-friendly social media junkie. Certified food expert."

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *