Soekarno-Hatta Immigration conducts first e-VOA trial in Indonesia

Guo Jinpeng, a Chinese citizen, becomes the first e-user of Visa on Arrival

REPUBLIKA.CO.ID, TANGERANG — Soekarno-Hatta immigration has conducted the first electronic trial of Visa on Arrival (e-VOA), which is expected to be inaugurated on Wednesday (11/9/2022). The inauguration will take place just before the momentum of the G20 high-level conference (Summit) to be held on November 15-16, 2022.

“We agree with the leadership of the Directorate General of Immigration that this e-VOA is an effort to support the G20 Summit and meet the needs of the global community who wish to have a vacation or have a business meeting. business in Indonesia,” Soekarno-Hatta Immigration Office Chief Muhammad Tito Andrianto said in a press release on Saturday (5/11/2022).

Tito explained that on Friday (11/4/2022) around 22:55 WIB, the foreigners who became the first users of e-VOA landed in Indonesia via Soekarno-Hatta airport in Tangerang. Namely, Guo Jinpeng, who is a citizen of the People’s Republic of China (PRC), flew from Hong Kong on a Cathay Pacific Airways aircraft with flight number CX797.

During the trial period of e-VOA, foreigners holding e-VOA are only allowed to enter Indonesia through two arrival gates, namely Tangerang Soekarno Hatta International Airport and Bali’s Ngurah Rai International Airport. Foreigners using e-VOA are required to pay IDR 500,000 and will be allowed to stay in Indonesia for 30 days, and can be extended for another 30 days at the immigration office.

Tito explained that the e-VOA can be used no later than 90 days after payment, just like the e-Visa. These foreigners may be allowed to stay in Indonesia for tourist visits, government visits, business visits, meeting visits, transits and visits to purchase goods.

“Soekarno-Hatta Immigration has made preparations in all aspects, we are ready to support the implementation of this innovation, so that foreigners around the world find it easy to travel to Indonesia, so that it can also stimulate the economy such as attracting investors to visit Indonesia, as instructed Mr. President,” Tito explained.

The head of immigration information and communications technology at the Soekarno-Hatta immigration office, Habiburrahman added, e-VOA has a B213 visa index. It is hoped that after the official launch of e-VOA later, foreigners can register their visa applications more easily.

“Because it is only through the website. After approval, foreigners only have to make payments online with a credit card bearing the Visa, Mastercard or JCB logo”, did he declare.

After making the payment, Habiburrahman continued, the e-VOA application will be checked by the agent. If approved, the e-VOA will be sent to the relevant foreigner via the app.

“Furthermore, foreigners simply download the e-VOA which has been approved and just show it at the Immigration Checkpoint (TPI) when entering Indonesian territory,” he said. Explain.

As we know, currently only foreigners from 26 countries are authorized to apply for the e-VOA. Namely Australia, South Africa, United States, Saudi Arabia, Argentina, Netherlands, Belgium, Brazil, Denmark and India. Then England, Italy, Japan, Germany, Canada, South Korea, Mexico, France, Russia and New Zealand. Also Spain, Switzerland, Timor Leste, China, Turkey and Ukraine.

Zera Carpenter

"Typical thinker. Unapologetic alcoholaholic. Internet fanatic. Pop culture advocate. Tv junkie."

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *