North Atlantic Treaty Organization or NATO: history and member states


The North Atlantic Treaty Organization or commonly known as the North Atlantic Treaty Organization (NATO) is a military alliance formed in 1949. This alliance was first established by the United States United States, Canada and a number of Western European countries.

The goal was to balance the Soviet army that was pillaging Central and Eastern Europe during World War II. Not only is its story full of conflict, but its development is always filled with a series of heated events.

What is the history and latest developments? This is the explanation summarized by detikEdu from various sources.

History of the North Atlantic Treaty Organization

City of the Encyclopedia British, NATO has existed since April 4, 1949 with the aim of creating economic balance in Central and Eastern Europe after World War II. After the World War, the major countries of Western Europe experienced economic and military exhaustion.

As a result, there was a drastic decline in economic and military supplies. For this reason, many new communist parties emerged, notably in France and Italy.

The emergence of the Communist Party caused various political events to evolve rapidly. A proof of this is the rise of the Soviet Union which dominated all the countries of Central and Eastern Europe.

Having gained the upper hand, various communist countries under Moscow consolidated their control over the governments of non-communist political countries in 1948. Led by the British Prime Minister at the time, Winston Churchill, this incident led to the destruction of the agreements of cooperation during the war. .

This incident also caused the emergence of communist and non-communist areas. For example, in Germany there are two countries: democratic Germany in the west and communist Germany in the east.

In 1948, the United States offered significant economic aid to Western and Southern European countries under the Marshall Plan. However, this assistance is not provided free of charge but rather within the framework of a cooperation called the Brussels Treaty.

The countries included are the United Kingdom, France, Belgium, the Netherlands and Luxembourg who entered into this agreement as a collective defense known as the Western European Union. Without realizing it, this alliance constituted an adequate military counterweight to the Soviet Union.

In March 1948, a communist coup took place in Czechoslovakia. Thus, the three countries began discussions on a multilateral collective defense system that would strengthen the security of Western European countries and promote democratic values.

In addition to England, Canada and the United States, this discussion was finally joined by France, the Netherlands (Belgium, Netherlands and Luxembourg) and Norway in April 1949.

The results of the discussions ultimately formalized the North Atlantic Treaty, which eventually became known as the North Atlantic Treaty Organization, or NATO.

Member States of the North Atlantic Treaty Organization

Original members: Belgium, Canada, Denmark, France, Iceland, Italy, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Norway, Portugal, United Kingdom and United States.

Current members: Albania, Belgium, Bulgaria, Canada, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Montenegro, Netherlands, North Macedonia, Norway, Poland, Portugal. , Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Türkiye, United Kingdom and United States

North Macedonia is the last NATO member to join NATO in 2020. In May 2022, Sweden and Finland announced their intention to join NATO in response to the unprovoked invasion of Ukraine by Russia.

Latest news on the North Atlantic Treaty Organization

Russian and Ukrainian War

Quoted by CNBC Indonesia, the war between Russia and Ukraine is still not over. Ukraine has reportedly regained the Donetsk region in eastern Ukraine. As a result, NATO is now in conflict with Russia’s ally Belarus.

NATO countries bordering Belarus, such as Poland, Lithuania and Latvia, are threatening to close their borders due to the appearance of the mercenary Wagner.

Wagner, which brings together thousands of committed soldiers who supported Russia in the war in Ukraine, is reportedly creating a new military base in Belarus. As a result, the Polish government decided to close the 250-mile border with Belarus in the event of serious incidents related to Wagner mercenaries in the country.

NATO strengthens security in the Black Sea region

The second development is that NATO is strengthening security in the Black Sea region. Quoted by AP News, this was done after Russia’s departure and an important agreement regarding Ukrainian grain exports via the Black Sea.

Discussed at the NATO-Ukraine Council meeting, Russia reportedly ended the grain transport deal and attacked Ukrainian ports. Thus, NATO declared the Black Sea region dangerous and security was increased.

It’s more about the North Atlantic Treaty Organization and the latest news. Hope this adds some insight to the detikers, okay?

Watch the video “US confirms it will not send troops to Ukraine


Chad Sutton

"Typical zombieaholic. General twitter fanatic. Food fanatic. Gamer. Unapologetic analyst."

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *