July 1, 1867: Canada Day, Independence Day of Canada

Liputan6.com, Jakarta – The self-governing territory of Canada, a confederation of Nova Scotia, New Brunswick and the future provinces of Ontario and Quebec, was officially recognized by the United Kingdom with the passage of the Act of British North America on July 1, later known as canada day or Canada Day (Independence Day of Canada).

Quote from the page StoryThursday (6/30/2022), during the 19th century, colonial dependency gave way to increased autonomy for a growing Canada.

In 1841, Upper and Lower Canada, now known as Ontario and Quebec, became a single province under the Act of Union.

In the 1860s, a movement for greater Canadian federation arose out of the need for a common defence, the desire for a national railway system, and the need to find a solution to the problems of the French and British conflicts.

When the Maritime provinces, seeking unity among themselves, called a conference in 1864, delegates from other Canadian provinces attended. Later that year another conference was held in Quebec, and in 1866 Canadian officials traveled to London to meet with the British government.

* Fact or hoax? To know the veracity of the information circulating, please WhatsApp at the number Liputan6.com Fact Check 0811 9787 670 by simply typing the desired keyword.

Polly Ferguson

"Freelance communicator. Hardcore web practitioner. Entrepreneur. Total student. Beer ninja."

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *