Jokowi at the G7 Germany Summit, what is the difference with the G8 and the G20?

Jakarta, CNBC Indonesia – President Joko Widodo (Jokowi) is officially present in Germany. This is to attend the Summit (Summit) of the G7 countries.

Indonesia participates as a G7 partner country along with India, South Africa, Senegal and Argentina. RI was also invited as the G20 Presidency.

The G7 is an annual meeting of world leaders, where they discuss global issues, one of which is the Russian-Ukrainian war which continues to this day. So what is the difference between the G8 and G20 meetings?

Launch CNBC InternationalG7 is the Group of Seven. This group was formed primarily because of politics.

The G7 was created after the first oil shock of the 1970s, during which economies around the world suffered. The agitated world leaders finally helped a group of government officials and decided to meet and find a solution.

Its members are Canada, France, Germany, Italy, Japan, the United Kingdom and the United States (US). Meanwhile, European countries are represented by the Presidents of the European Council and the European Commission at every G7 meeting.

In 1998, Russia joined the G7, making it the G8. Unfortunately the Kremlin did not last long and was expelled from the group in 2014 following the annexation of Crimea.

So what is the G20?

Meanwhile, the G20 is a group of 20 countries that represent 85% of the global economy. Unlike the G8 and the G7, which are exclusively made up of developed countries, the G20 is made up of developing countries. Indonesia is one of its members.

The G20 was originally formed in 1999 as an economic forum with membership only at ministerial level. In 2009, the G20 was designated as the successor to the G8 and was expanded to become the heads of state level, where member states are represented by heads of state, ministers and central bank governors.

The 17th G20 summit will be held this year in Bali after Indonesia was elected president on December 1, 2021 until the summit in the fourth quarter of 2022. The handover ceremony was conducted by Italian Prime Minister Mario Draghi at the President of the Republic of Indonesia Joko Widodo at the closing of the G20 summit in Rome in 2021.

Here are the member countries of the G20:
– Argentina
– Australia
– Brazil
– Canada
– China
– France
– Germany
– India
– Indonesia
– Italy
– Japan
– Mexico
– Russia
– Saudi Arabia
– South Africa
– South Korea
– Turkey
– English
– The United States of America
– European Union

[Gambas:Video CNBC]

next article

G7 reluctant to pay for Russian gas in rubles

Robert Butler

"Bacon aficionado. Hardcore twitter enthusiast. Hipster-friendly pop culture expert. Student. Certified beer buff."

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *