Canada imposes sanctions on 10,000 members of the Iranian Revolutionary Guards

Canada imposes entry ban on 10,000 Iranian regime members, including IRGC

REPUBLIKA.CO.ID, OTTAWA — Canada has imposed an entry ban on 10,000 members of the Iranian regime, including the Islamic Revolutionary Guard Corps (IRGC). Prime Minister Justin Trudeau said he would place Iran under the “strictest provisions” of immigration measures.

“This is the strongest action we have to take after states and state entities,” Trudeau said. AlarabiyaSaturday (8/10/2022).

Trudeau noted that the ban applied to iranian regime for war crimes or genocide. Individuals on the list will not be admitted to Canada in perpetuity and are prohibited from owning any assets or engaging in financial transactions.

Thousands of Canadians have staged protests in recent weeks following the death of 22-year-old Mahsa Amini while in custody. Amini was arrested by Iran’s moral police for not wearing the hijab according to the rules.

Ottawa has imposed sanctions on Iran’s nuclear program. Canada has also pressed Tehran to compensate the families of the victims of the PS752 flight that was shot down in January 2020, which killed 176 people, including 85 Canadian citizens and permanent residents.

“The Iranian regime is a state sponsor of terrorism. It’s repressive, theocratic and misogynistic,” Deputy Prime Minister Chrystia Freeland told a news conference.

Trudeau and Freeland also said Ottawa would expand sanctions targeting individuals and entities in Iran. Canada will also prevent Iranian money laundering in the country.

Robert Butler

"Bacon aficionado. Hardcore twitter enthusiast. Hipster-friendly pop culture expert. Student. Certified beer buff."

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *