After the death of Queen Elizabeth II, several countries of the British Commonwealth want to become republics

TEMPO.CO, Jakarta – The late Queen Elizabeth II not just a leader for the British nation. Thanks to his complex British imperial heritage, he also ruled several British Commonwealth countries, from the Caribbean to Australia.

Even before the Queen’s death on September 8, several Commonwealth countries began to seriously question their relationship with the British royal family. After the queen’s death, some countries seem to be more tied to the queen herself than to her monarchical system. This is surely not good news for King Charles III who has just ascended the throne to replace the Queen.

There are 56 former British colonies in the body politic known as Commonwealth, however the British Royal Family currently officially rules the 15 Commonwealth realms. Countries currently ruled by King Charles III are Antigua and Barbuda, Australia, Bahamas, Belize, Canada, Grenada, Jamaica, New Zealand, Papua New Guinea, Kitts St. Nevis, St. Lucia, St. Saint -Vincent and the Grenadines, the Solomon Islands, Tuvalu and of course England.

Queen Elizabeth begins her reign at the head of 32 countries. But during his 70 years of rule, most countries severed their ties with the British monarchy. Most of these changes happened in the 1960s and 1970s. In fact, that’s not the only time it happened. Many countries decided to become republics and leave the British Commonwealth. For example, after a parliamentary vote in Barbados, he managed to get rid of the queen in 2021.

So which countries will now become republics?

The history of the monarchy as a symbol of British slavery and cruelty is not taken lightly in many former British colonies, especially in the Caribbean islands.

While Jamaica, the Bahamas, Antigua and Barbuda and St. Saint Vincent and the Grenadines have all said they will hold a referendum on establishing a republic. Meanwhile, Belize appears to have ordered constitutional changes.

Among them, Jamaica could be the first to get rid of the British monarchy, as reported The gardians. The Caribbean may even require a referendum to make Charles king, opening an easier path to a republic.

Which countries will become republics?

Looking further afield, although it has no intention of abolishing Britain’s monarchical system, New Zealand, through its Prime Minister Jacinda Ardern, has said it believes the country will soon become or later a republic.

Which country is unlikely to become a republic?

In Australia, newly elected Prime Minister Anthony Albanese is a leading Republican. But he also said abolishing the monarchy was not a priority during his first term. This means he is unlikely to leave the monarchy anytime soon, despite a strong Republican movement.

And what about the rest? In short, none of them seem to be heading Republic soon. Canada, Grenada, Papua New Guinea, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, the Solomon Islands and Tuvalu have not indicated the possibility of holding a referendum or overturning the decision to oust King Charles. However, it is possible that they will continue to fight for the next heir to the throne after the death of Queen Elizabeth II.


Read also: Queen Elizabeth II visits 117 countries in 70 years of leadership, including Indonesia

Always update the latest information. Watch the latest news and selected news from on the Telegram channel “ Update”. Click on join. First you need to install the Telegram app.

Chad Sutton

"Typical zombieaholic. General twitter fanatic. Food fanatic. Gamer. Unapologetic analyst."

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *