2022 F1 Canadian GP qualifying: Verstappen Pole, Second Alonso


runner Running of the red bulls Max Verstappen took pole position for the session 2022 Canadian F1 GP qualifying. Beat Verstappen Fernando Alonso and Carlos Sainz Jr..

The session, held at Circuit Gilles Villeneuve, Montreal, on Sunday (6/19/2022) at the dawn of the WIB, took place in pouring rain. As a result, the track becomes slippery and makes it difficult for a number of riders to set the best time.

Going into the Q3 session, the competition intensified when Verstappen met resistance from Sainz. However, Verstappen eventually managed to lock in pole position with a time of 1 minute 21.299 seconds which was his second pole of the season, after Emilia-Romagna.

The upset came when Alonso, who performed well from the third free practice, was able to sprint to second place at the end of qualifying, overtaking Sainz’s time. Alonso, who rode Alpine, clocked 1 minute 21.944 seconds while Sainz had to settle for third place with 1 minute 22.096 seconds.

The top five places are completed by Lewis Hamilton of Mercedes and Kevin Magnussen of Haas. Haas also placed Mick Schumacher in sixth place, followed by Esteban Ocon, George Russell, Daniel Ricciardo and Zhou Guanyu.

The upset came when Sergio Perez performed poorly and only started from 13th position as his car hit a wall at the 3/4 turn. Ferrari’s Charles Leclerc started from the bottom because of an engine change that resulted in a 10 grid penalty.

2022 Canadian F1 GP qualifying results

1 Max Verstappen NED Oracle Red Bull Racing 1m32.219s 1m23.746s 1m21.299s
2 Fernando Alonso ESP BWT Alpine F1 Team 1m32.277s 1m24.848s 1m21.944s
3 Carlos Sainz ESP Scuderia Ferrari 1m32.781s 1m25.197s 1m22.096s
4 Lewis Hamilton GBR Mercedes AMG Petronas Formula 1 Team 1m33.841s 1m25.543s 1m22.891s
5 Kevin Magnussen DEN Haas F1 Team 1m32.957s 1m26.254s 1m22.960s
6 Mick Schumacher GER Haas F1 Team 1m33.707s 1m25.684s 1m23.356s
7 Esteban Ocon FRA BWT Alpine F1 Team 1m33.012s 1m26.135s 1m23.529s
8 George Russell GBR Mercedes AMG Petronas Formula 1 Team 1m33.160s 1m24.950s 1m23.557s
9 Daniel Ricciardo AUS McLaren F1 Team 1m33.636s 1m26.375s 1m23.749s
10 Guanyu Zhou CHN Alfa Romeo F1 Team Orlen 1m33.692s 1m26.116s 1m24.030s
11 Valtteri Bottas FIN Alfa Romeo F1 Team Orlen 1m33.689s 1m26.788s
12 Alexander Albon THA Course Williams 1m34.047s 1m26.858s
13 Sergio Perez MEX Oracle Bull Racing 1m33.929s 1m33.127s
14 Lando Norris GBR McLaren F1 Team 1m34.066s No time
15 Charles Leclerc MY Scuderia Ferrari 1m33.008s No timing
16 Pierre Gasly FRA Scuderia AlphaTauri 1m34,492s
17 Sebastian Vettel GER Aston Martin Aramco Cognizant Formula One Team 1m34.512s
18 Lance Stroll CAN Aston Martin Aramco Cognizant Formula One Team 1m35.532s
19 Nicholas Latifi CAN Williams Racing 1m35.660s
20 Yuki Tsunoda JPN Scuderia Alpha Tauri 1m36.575s


Polly Ferguson

"Freelance communicator. Hardcore web practitioner. Entrepreneur. Total student. Beer ninja."

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *